Mirror mirror on the wall…

Welcome to my first blog post. I hope you will find this interesting, thought-provoking, and helpful.

This past July I attended the Flipped Learning Network conference, FlipCon16, and was inspired and energized. As I continue to work on improving what I do in the classroom, it was invigorating to share and receive ideas about becoming a more effective teacher. I was able to reflect on my pedagogy and practices which has inspired me to continue flipping my classes.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Tyler DeWitt (@tyleradwitt) and two important messages I took away were that:

A) Teachers are translators – It is our job to take complex ideas and break them down for my students to understand. I’m not looking to make historians out of my students. I consistently tell them that my job is to teach them HOW to think, not what to think. That means I need to determine what information is important and present it in a way my students understand.

B) “The vernacular of teaching doesn’t ‘live’ anywhere,” (DeWitt). – Teaching doesn’t just come from textbooks. It comes from anywhere and everywhere. What can you do to bring authentic learning to your students? LearnĀ from a colleague or explain how you used calculating percentages on your vacation. Teaching lives in each one of us and it’s up to us to figure out how to impact our students.

As the school year is quickly approaching, take some time to reflect on your craft. Continue doing what you do well and take small steps to improve your areas of weakness. Most importantly, have fun.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

